## ALL ODISHA RICE MILLERS ASSOCIATION

S-3/36 , Sec-A, Zone-B, Mancheswar Indl. Estate, Bhubaneswar-751010 Telefax: (0674) 2580933, 2583933

Chairman: Santosh Kr. Agrawal (094330 11631) Secretary: Santosh Kr. Sonthalia (94370 28933)

Visit us at www.aorma.in email: secretary.aorma@gmail.com

Dated 8<sup>th</sup> October, 2018.

To, Shri Naveen Patnaik Ji, Hon'ble Chief Minister, Odisha.

Sir,

Sub: Humble request for an appointment to appraise some problems concerning survival of Rice Milling Industry in Odisha.

Most respectfully, we would like to thank your honour for transforming Odisha into the rice bowl of our country. We are proud to be part of a Food Grains Surplus State which was earlier termed as a deficit State being dependant on import of food grains from other States. There are about 1500 Rice Mills in Odisha and all are co-operating with the State Government in achieving an all time high procurement target year after year.

Unfortunately, *Rice Milling Industry in our State is in a very bad shape since last few years and is struggling for its survival*. Many units have already become sick. There are some serious financial and policy issues which are not decided in time. The millers are kept assured but are being dumped once the procurement is over. *Millers are feeling demoralized and dishearten*. We pray your honour's immediate kind intervention to resolve the issues.

Your honour may kindly appreciate that Farmers are the back bone of our economy. Both farmers and Rice Milling Industry are the two sides of the same coin. *Farmers can not remain healthy unless the Rice Milling Industry remains healthy.* Our survival is equally important for survival of the farmers.

We therefore, most humbly pray your honour to kindly grant us an appointment to meet you as per your convenience to appraise some of our main issues in the interest of survival and full fledged functioning of this labour oriented industry. And for which act of kindness, we shall remain ever grateful.

Yours faithfully,

(Santosh Kr. Agrawal),

Chairman.

